Daka, Muwowo, Siame battle for SCZ best Sportsman honours
Published On December 28, 2017 » 2002 Views» By Evans Musenya Manda » Sports, Stories
 0 stars
Register to vote!




ZAMBIA’S sports personalities of the year will be revealed this morning at the Sports Council of Zambia, National Awards breakfast gala at the Radisson Blue hotel.
The rewards are returning for the first time since 2014 and will see footballer Patson Daka, boxer Alfred Muwowo and sprinter Sydney Siame compete for the Sportsman-of-the-year award.
Daka who is also lined up for the young player of the year award at the Confederation of African Football (CAF) awards ceremony next month, is seen as the frontrunner after his exploits at both the under-20 and senior national teams.
He helped the under-20 win the Africa Cup as well reaching the quarter-final of the World Cup before helping the senior to finish second in the Russian 2018 World Cup qualifiers in Group B.
He will however face stiff competition from Siame who equalled the 200m national record and was endorsed by Nike who signed him on as a brand ambassador in Zambia.
Muwowo also had a successful year where he was crowned Africa Boxing Union flyweight champion after beating Hagui Juma of Tanzania in July.
Muwowo will defend his title on Saturday against South African Delisizwe Komani.
Other awards lined up for the day will see the sportswoman of the year which is being contested by Barbra Banda who doubles as a footballer and boxer, Kabange Mupopo who is an athlete as well as boxer Lolita Muzeya.
The young sportsman of the year will be contested by Kalombo Mulenga of badminton, athletes Kennedy Luchembe and judoka Simon Zulu.
Barbra Zulu will also compete for the sportswoman of the year alongside Lubuuto Bwalya from Chess and swimmer Tilka Paljk, the coach of the year award nominees include Beston Chambeshi (football), Douglas Kalembo (athletics) and Mwamba Chishimba (Rugby).
The late Evans Mutangama was nominated as administrator of the year for guiding Kabwe Youth Soccer Academy to the Super Division and will be challenged Mambo Choya of Rugby and Buildcon proprietor Moses Mubanga.
Sandra Mwila of Times of Zambia, Mathews Kabamba of the Zambia Daily Mail and Michael Miyoba of Daily Nation have been nominated as sports journalists of the year.
The team of the year has nominees, the National 7s Rugby, Under-20 football team and Zesco United.

Share this post

About The Author

Comments are closed.