FQM Schools Rugby on
Published On February 27, 2015 » 3381 Views» By Davies M.M Chanda » Rugby, Sports
 0 stars
Register to vote!

THE 11th First Quantum Minerals (FQM) Ndola Schools Invitational Sevens Rugby tournament thrills return today at its traditional venue Simba School grounds today.
It will be interesting to see if Simba who have been shining continue to hold sway their dominance as exhibited the past three years.
Simba enter the tournament as defending champions after winning a double in the Sevens and 15s last year.
There is also a possibility that the event could witness a resurgence of three-time champions Chengelo 2006-2008-2009 and Mpelembe winners 2007-2010 and 2013.
Even more interesting is the appearance of Trident, a new school established under the ambit of FQM and offering quality education in Solwezi.
In their debut last year, Trident won the Plate final beating seasoned campaigners Chengelo 17-14 to finish third overall when the team was barely three months old.
Will Philip Dongo, coach for the host team Simba be able to rally his side to victory comprising mostly Grade 10 boys?
If Dongo pulls this one off he will be rated as the most successful coach. Against all odds, Simba won the Sevens and 15’s in 2012, and retained the 15’s in 2013 and scooped both in 2014.
Dongo’s top players went overseas to pursue foundation courses mid- term last year.
So he will rely on young players that he has groomed.
Although Dongo said Trident will be the team to watch.
Speaking at the end of last year’s event, he said half of the Trident players came from Simba and others hailed from South Africa: “This will be the team to watch.”
Interestingly, Hayward Mueller, the organiser of the Trident team said: “We came to participate but we will come to win next year”
Government sponsored schools in Kansenshi, Chifubu and Chiwala can not be written off. Kansenshi were the surprise package of the tournament last year.
Kansenshi overran all opposition to finish top of group ‘B’ that saw them pitted against group ‘A’ winners Simba, which the latter won 12-7 in a tightly contested final.
Chifubu are the 2011 champions and hold the record of being the first Government school to lift the prestigious trophy in the tournament dominated by elite private institutions.
The event will also welcome Masaiti of Ndola rural for the second time while Mpongwe High School are unable to participate despite extending them an invitation due to lack of transport.
Kitwe schools have not been invited because their players are inactive as the league will only commence next term.
But they are likely to be invited for the 15’s hoped to be held later this year.
The 10 teams taking part are Simba, Kansenshi (Ndola), Chengelo (Mkushi), Mpelembe (Kitwe), Chifubu (Ndola), Trident, Masaiti (Ndola rural), Amano (Chingola) Masala and Chiwala both of Ndola. The all day event kicks off at 09.30 hours.
Matches are to be played simultaneously on a round robin basis from two pitches until the order is established that will lead to winners of Pool ‘A ‘clashing against the team topping group’B’to establish the champion for 2015.
Second placed teams meet in Plate while third finishers will play the Bowl final.
Group A has Simba, Chengelo, Chifubu, Masaiti and Masala while Kansenshi, Mpelembe, Trident, Amano and Chiwala make up  Group B.

Share this post

About The Author