ZMAs unveils nominees
Published On April 7, 2016 » 3456 Views» By Administrator Times » Entertainment, Others
 0 stars
Register to vote!


AFTER months of intense preparation and voting, nominations for this monthend’s Zambia Music Awards (ZMAs) have finally been revealed.
Chef 187, Jay Rox and Afunika will battle it out for the coveted title of Best Male Artist, while the fight for the Best Female Artist will be among Kan2, Cleo ‘The Ice Queen’ and Chileshe Bwalya.
Amfumu by Mutende Culture Ensemble, I am Lenshina by Mumba Yachi and Nshakalekeleko by Medoreen Besa have been nominated for the Best Live Recording Album award.
The shortlist was drawn up by the Zambia Adjudicators Panel (ZAAP) following a record number of nominations from music fans.
The nominations were revealed at a media event at Kitwe’s Keg and Coppersmith on Thursday last week.
The function was attended by representatives from the main ZMAs sponsor Zambian Breweries, the National Arts Council (NAC), the ZAAP and the Zambia Association of Musicians (ZAM).
ZAM president Njoya Tee said the association is delighted to unveil this year’s Mosi ZMA nominees.
“The record setting number of nominations demonstrates the love people have for Zambian music. We look forward to recognising the hard work of the many artists at the awards and celebrating Zambian music in Livingstone at the Mosi Day of Thunder,” he said.
He said the association is excited about the awards as well as the Mosi Day of Thunder.
The association believes the ZMAs will be an entertainment platform that will showcase chart-topping acts, with their signature blend of upbeat and uplifting music.
Mosi Lager Marketing Manager Nomonde Donsa said with the musicians having been approved by the fans, it was anticipated that the ZMAs would draw a large crowd.
Nominees for Best Live Recording Album are Amfumu by Mutende Culture Ensemble, I am Lenshina by Mumba Yachi, Nshakalekeleko by Medoreen Besa.
David Andish, Israel Kaputula  and Emmanuel Siame make up the list of nominees for Best Lead Guitarist; while Best Bass Guitarist has Jericho Banda (Jerry Fingaz), David Kasochi, Nzovuwa Chambaka.
Nominees for Best Keyboard Player are Lazarus Zulu, Mapalo Mapalo and Jones Samalama; while nominees for Best Drummer are Smith Phiri, Eston Mwape and Kasonde Sunkutu.
Nominees for Best Song Writer are Petersen Zagaze and Chef 187 Afunika.
Best Studio Music Producer nominees are Tonny Breezy, Killa Beats and DJ Mzenga Man. Nominees for Best Dancehall/RnB Album are Outside the Rox by Jay Rox, Ama-Rulah 1712 by Roberto and King Solomon by Petersen Zagaze.
Nominees for best Hip Hop/Rap Album are Bobby East by Bobby East, Best Before Forever by K.R.Y.T.I.C. and Black na White II by Slap Dee.
Best Traditional/Kalindula Album nominees are Anfumu by Mutende Culture Ensemble, Walakotela Pang’anda by Voice of Luapula and Salary by Angela Nyirenda.
Nominees for Best Album are Outside the Rox by Jay Rox, Black na White II by Slap Dee and King Solomon by Petersen Zagaze.
Best Female Radio nominees are Linzie – Radio 4 FM ZNBC, Chi Chi B – Komboni Radio and Abby Lupupa – Power FM.
Best Male Radio DJ nominees are Showstar – Hone FM, Big Al – Sun FM and Caristo Clear QFM.
Nominees for Best New/Upcoming Artist are Drimz, Wezi and Reuben.
Nominees for Mosi Lager Song of the Year are Ama-Rulah by Roberto, Dorika by Chims and Shonongo by Chester.
It is now up to the public to vote for their favourite musicians from the three nominations in each category.

Share this post

About The Author